The Eaquals Inspection Scheme

The Eaquals Inspection Scheme is based on a principled and effective methodology, which combines direct observation of all aspects of the language centre’s activities with inspection of documentation and other evidence. The Eaquals inspection includes a site visit which is conducted by 2 inspectors and generally lasts 2 days (3-4 days in case of larger centres).

Eaquals inspectors  are expert practitioners with considerable experience in language centre management. Before being appointed they undergo training and must demonstrate a good knowledge of the Eaquals Inspection Scheme together with the capacity to objectively evaluate a language centre’s performance against the Quality Standards. They are required to comply with the professional Code of Conduct, follow the established inspection procedures and respect the Scheme’s principles.

The Scope of the Inspection

All activities related to the provision of language learning services must be included in the inspection, as well as all sites where teaching takes place:

  • off-site and in-company courses
  • classes and activities run at branches, annexes or satellite schools which operate as part of the same company or under the same trading name and are not separately accredited by Eaquals
  • teacher training courses that are not separately accredited by international awarding bodies recognised by Eaquals
  • seasonal courses

Inspectors look for evidence that all services provided by the language centre meet the Eaquals Quality Standards and verify that all the promises made to students, staff and other stakeholders are respected


  • hold meetings with management and academic managers
  • meet focus groups of students and teachers, and where applicable, other stakeholders
  • interview members of staff
  • observe a representative selection of the teaching
  • check that academic management and administrative systems work in practice
  • check key documentation – including material stored online
  • inspect premises and resources and if applicable student residences

The Eaquals Scheme covers 12 main Categories grouped in 5 Sections:

Institutional Management and Governance
1. Management and Administration
2. Quality Assurance
3. Communication with Staff
4. Communication with Students and Clients

Student Services
9. Student Services

10. Staff Profile and Development
11. Staff Employment Terms

Academic Management
5. Course Design and Supporting Systems
6. Teaching and Learning
7. Assessment and Certification
8. Academic Resources

Learning Environment and Facilities
12. Learning Environment